Recipe for Happiness

Have you ever wondered if work-life balance is possible?

After spending 60 hours a week working in the Corporate world I thought I knew the answer.  I believed that if you love what you do, there is no point counting the hours you spend doing it.  Call it naivety that opportunity cost was never factored into my equation.   In my case opportunity cost was all the things I gave up; time with friends & family, hobbies like photography & writing and most importantly pursuing my life’s passion.  Since leaving the security of a weekly paycheck I’ve found myself making time for new interests, getting back in touch with old friends and having time to think of creative ways to leave an imprint on the world.  I can’t give you the recipe for happiness, it’s internal to each of us.  I can tell you that I’m perfecting my own equation and so far it looks like this:

Each Day =

  • a splash of fitness
  • exciting work that pays well
  • a dash of creative thinking
  • a great meal with a new recipe
  • a heart full of love for the people around me
  • an open mind
  • a sprinkle of written thought
  • something new

I’m free and I’m open to see opportunity as it presents itself.

3 responses to “Recipe for Happiness

  1. I love this! You are so creative! I love how you say we each have our own equation to perfect, and making the things that make us happy in our lives central every day is a key factor in maintain a consistently happy mood and a happy, rich life full of meaning and satisfaction! Thank you, this enriched my day!!!

  2. I stumbled upon this by accident/chance. Being a numbers girl myself, I appreciate all of your posts (which I read thoroughly, and enjoyed!), but this one speaks to me the most. I applaud your decision to leave behind job security and pursue your passions! Life is what you make of it and I, too, strive to live my life in happiness as much as possible.

    Thanks for the great post, and I hope you get back to blogging soon. October’s almost done, and there’s nothing in your archives this month!

    • Thanks for your feedback Diana, sometimes we need a gentle push to remind us that our writing is worthwhile. You were exactly the push I needed – so my latest post is for you. I hope you enjoy.

      Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

