Count Something…

Sorry for the lag in posting as I just got back from a long vacation. Aside from meeting wonderful people in Venezuela, Trinidad, Tobago and Grenada, I also learnt to sail under a captain who happened to spend his days working as an astrophysicist for NASA (everyone has a story). There is something magical about being at the helm of a boat, by yourself in the middle of the night – surrounded by nothing but ocean and letting the moonlight and stars guide you. I actually found myself counting the stars and smiling at the recollection of counting stars as a child.

As a numbers person, it’s easy to get caught up in sales & operational data that you fail to count things that have personal meaning – so I’ve set out to count things that matter. Last week I started counting the number of times I use the word ‘can’t’. I hit 6 and reflected on all the things I thought I couldn’t do. For example, I’ve always thought I couldn’t wink. To be honest, it never really bothered me. To me, winking was not a skill I could market myself with. The thing that bothered me was that there were six things I thought I couldn’t do. The idea that I was trapped by the the mere thought of not being able to do something – motivated me to learn. I actually went on the web and found a few ways to teach myself to wink, and it worked. I can now wink!


I’m not passionate about winking – but I’m passionate about learning. By simply counting the number of times I used the word ‘can’t’ I learnt twice as many things about myself.

What are you passionate about that you can count?

2 responses to “Count Something…

  1. This is such a cute way of introducing this idea! I love becoming conscious of beliefs that hold me back, and breaking through them by having an open mind. Love your positive slant on things!

Leave a Reply

