Charting the Path to Happiness

I couldn’t resist posting the flowchart created by Typecut. It reminds me of the inspirational talk Steve Jobs gave to the 2005 graduating class at Stanford and I quote, “… for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.”

Don’t ever be afraid to take risks and make calculated changes in your life.

4 responses to “Charting the Path to Happiness

  1. Great post! It reminds me of a Charles Darwin quote. “It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one most adaptable to change.”

  2. One question. How do we “calculate change”?

    • Take the old value and subtract it from the new value, then divide by the old value.

      Keep in mind:
      “Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.” Albert Einstein

      In my post I referred to ‘calculated changes’, similar to calculated risks where you weigh both the pros and cons for making a change and then choose to move forward. There is no sense changing for the sake of it… 🙂

      How would you calculate change LK?

  3. I would love nothing more than to pencil your equation onto a cheat sheet. However, I don’t have the slightest clue where to begin deriving numerical values for the old and the new. What I can do, is tap into my felt sense, or intuition if you will, to get a sense of their weight.
    I weigh the old vs. the new and direct myself according to which one “feels” lighter/better/right. If one doesn’t seem to initially outweigh the other, my focus turns to which one I feel will eventually outweigh the other.
    Focus is crucial. There are things which don’t matter and things which do. Seeing them for what they were, are and will be is important. Irregardless of how we arrive at our answers, I agree that only that which truly matters should be considered.

Leave a Reply

